Thursday 6th May 2021

  • IT Conslting, Digital Transformation with IT Services
  • India vs Australia 2nd T20I: Match abandoned as rain plays spoilsport in crucial tie

    The second T20I between India and Australia has been abandoned. Australia will take a 1-0 series lead into the T20 decider at the SCG on Sunday.

    Here are the highlights:

    # The match has been abandoned at the MCG. 

    # Australia 132/7 (19 overs)

    # Australia 122/7 (18 overs)

    # Australia 103/7 (17 overs)

    # Andrew Tye is the new man in! 

    # Wicket! Nathan Coulter Nile departs for an aggressive 9 ball 18 which nearly spells the end of the Australian resistance in a clash which has been largely one-sided so far! Australia 101/7 (16 overs)

    # Australia 92/6 (15 overs)

    # Australia 83/6 (14 overs)

    # Nathan Coulter Nile walks down to the middle!

    # Wicket! The ever-increasing run rate was bound to result in a high-risk shot and it certainly does with Alex Carey dismissed while attempting a mighty shot into the stands, but failing to generate any proper connection as has been the case throughout the innings! Australia 74/6 (13.1 overs) 

    # Australia 74/5 (13 overs)

    # Australia 69/5 (12 overs)

    # Australia 62/5 (11 overs)

    # Alex Carey is the new man in! 

    # Wicket! Krunal Pandya joins the party with a beautiful, looping delivery which leaves Glenn Maxwell in no position to negotiate the turn, leaving the stumps in a state of disarray! Australia 62/5 (10.6 overs)

    # India 54/4 (10 overs)

    # Australia 52/4 (9 overs)

    # Australia 46/4 (8 overs)

    # Australia 41/4 (7 overs)

    # Ben Mcdermott walks down to the crease!

    # Wicket! Australia are in deep trouble as Marcus Stoinis departs for just 4 runs while attempting an aerial shot off a wide delivery, which Dinesh Karthick executes with great perfection! Australia 41/4 (6.3 overs)  

    # Australia 40/3 (6 overs)

    # Marcus Stoinis is the new man in!

    # Wicket! Short departs after attempting a wild heave off a quickire delivery by Khaleel Ahmed, which he fails to land any decent connection on, resulting in an inside edge on to the stumps. Australia 35/3 (5.3 overs)  

    # Australia are off to a poor start in the first five overs having lost two crucial wickets in the form of Aaron Finch, Chris Lynn. They need to ensure a steady partnership at this stage. 

    # Australia 34/2 (5 overs)

    # Australia 27/2 (4 overs)

    # Glenn Maxwell is the new man in!

    # Wicket! Chris Lynn perishes in search of yet another big shot which was never an option off Khaleel Ahmed’s delivery, handing a catch to Krunal Pandya who runs in to complete a fine catch. Australia lose their second wicket!  Australia 27/2 (3.4 overs)

    # Australia 19/1 (3 overs)

    # Australia 9/1 (2 overs)

    # Khaleel Ahmed is the next bowler in! 

    # Australia 2/1 (1 over)

    # Chris Lynn comes down at No 3!

    # Wicket! Aaron Finch departs for a duck having edged a Bhuvaneshwar Kumar delivery to wicketkeeper Karthick who makes no mistakes. India have struck early with a vital wicket! Australia 1/1 (0.2 overs)

    # D’Arcy Short and Aaron Finch are all set to kick off proceedings for Australia!

    # Billy Stanlake has hurt his ankle with Nathan Coulter-Nile replacing him in the matchday lineup! 

    # India have named an unchanged side!   

    India XI: Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli (c), KL Rahul, Rishabh Pant (wk), Dinesh Karthik, Krunal Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Khaleel Ahmeed, Jasprit Bumrah.

    Unchanged #AUSvIND

    — (@cricketcomau) November 23, 2018

    # Virat Kohli wins toss, opts to field first!

    # However, there is good news in store for the fans out there! 

    # There have been light showers at Melbourne resulting in fear that the clash may be curtailed due to rain just like the case in the first T20!

    Australia emerged victorious by a margin of four runs against India in the first T20I between the two sides at ‘The Gabba’, Brisbane.

    The hosts registered a total of 158 runs within 17 overs, in a rain curtailed tie on the back of excellent performances by Glenn Maxwell and Chris Lynn.

    India were handed a target of 174 runs to chase down in return after the target was readjusted as per the D/L method.

    Opener Shikhar Dhawan scored an excellent 76 off 42 balls in the chase before Dinesh Karthik contributed with a 13-ball 30 in the death overs.

    However, these knocks were not enough to get the side across the line due to early dismissals of opener Rohit Sharma, skipper Virat Kohli and KL Rahul. India finished agonisingly short on 169 for seven.

    Team India will be looking to make a comeback in the second match of the three-match series, which is slated to be played in Melbourne on Friday.

    They may opt to make a few changes in the Playing X1 after taking into account the inability of their opponents to negotiate quality spin bowlers.

    Yuzvendra Chahal may very well find a spot in the lineup considering his street-smart gameplay and ability to pick wickets effectively.

    Australia captain Aaron Finch, on the other hand, will be looking to invest his faith in the same players who made their presence felt at “The Gabba”.

    Squads for T20 series:

    India: Virat Kohli (C), Rohit Sharma (VC), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Dinesh Karthick, Rishabh Pant (wk), Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Washington Sundar, Krunal Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Umesh Yadav, Khaleel Ahmed.

    Australia: Aaron Finch (c), Alex Carey (vc, wk), Ashton Agar, Jason Behrendorff, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Chris Lynn, Glenn Maxwell, Ben McDermott, D’Arcy Short, Billy Stanlake, Marcus Stoinis, Andrew Tye, Adam Zampa.


  • Premium Quiz Test online
  • Samriddhi technology-Digitizing the world
  • Official Facebook Page